Marshall Islands

The Marshall Islands consist of two chains of coral atollstogether with more than 1,000 isletsjust north of the Equator.

The atolls are coral deposits on the crater rims of submerged volcanoes.

The islands were occupied by the US for several decades after World War II. They are now a sovereign nation under a Compact of Free Association with the US.